MOTD: Lana Del Rey

lana-del-rey-born-to-die-the-album-that-pop-killed_0001

As mentioned before, here’s my take on Lana Del Rey’s makeup look from her ‘Born to Die’ album cover. This is by no means a step-by-step account of her exact makeup, and given that I’m no makeup artist, this is just an inspired take on this look. Enjoy!

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

For the base I used my trustworthy Makeup Brilliance foundation in Morelowy (unfortunately you can only pick this up in Polish drugstores, but I’m on the hunt for a new foundation). I then defined my brows slightly using Faint in the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette. Moving onto the eyes, though there’s hardly anything on the eyes, I applied a swipe of Naked 2 all over the lid, and a bit of Faint mixed with Crave in the crease. For highlight I used Venus, in the tear-duct area. I also used Crave to line the eyes, and blended it into the rest of the eyeshadow for a more smokey look. I then used Rimmel’s Scandaleyes Waterproof eye pencil in Nude and for mascara I used Natural Collection Lash Definition in black. That’s eyes done. I then dusted on a bit of Bourjois’s delice de poudre bronzer in shade 52, and blended it in will a foundation brush (I used the eco tools buffing brush), since there’s hardly anything on the cheeks in the picture. A bit of Benefit’s Hervana blush for a slight flush, again I blended this in with the buffing brush. I also applied a bit of the bronzer to the sides of the nose, to add a slight bit more shadow and make it appear more slim. Make sure you blend well! For the lips, I prepped them using a bit of vaseline (not my lip balm of choice but the only one I had to hand), and then applied Bobbi Brown’s Creamy Matte Lip Colour in Valencia Orange (which is amazing!) mixed with MAC’s Crosswires lipstick. And that’s pretty much it. I think another lipstick that would achieve the orangey-pink colour Lana Del Rey is wearing in the photo is MAC’s Costa Chic (which I don’t have, hence my own concoction of colours haha). This is definitely a day-type of makeup, casual and fun, and nothing over the top.

1772193687131006250613

2 thoughts on “MOTD: Lana Del Rey

Leave a Reply

