How I’d Style: Bright Knits

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 22.45.56

I thought I’d start a new series on the blog called, ‘How I’d Style…’. As the title gives away, it will be on how I’d style a certain statement piece or trend, and so on, and can hopefully act as a source of inspiration if you’re searching for ideas for outfits or whatever. I thought I’d start with bright knits, given the blanket of snow that has engulfed much of the UK! Enjoy!

This bright orange jumper really caught my eye (Topshop also has a really amazing blue coloured knitted jumper for £36; Urban Outfitters is another great place for statement or bright knits). The bright knit is a great way to add colour to your wardrobe and beat the winter blues. Since it’s so vivid and fun, I thought it would be go well with a pair of velvet trousers. Not only does velvet feel luxurious (is it just me?), it’s a great alternative to your usual black skinny jeans. Plus, they’re warm!! Fashionable and practical = bonus! For contrast, the cobalt blue cambridge satchel brings a bit of a contemporary old school vibe to the outfit. The hellraisers add a bit of edge, so it’s not overly preppy, although probably the most impractical pair of flats one can throw on for winter (but, oh well!). The top off the look, a bright lip of course. This Giorgio Armani Lip Maestro in 401 is the perfect match to the jumper, an opaque matte red with orange undertones. Not only is it universally flattering, it gives a nice nod to summer (which cannot get here soon enough, if you ask me!)

Links:
1) Topshop Knitted Rib Scoop V Jumper £38
2) Motel Star Velvet Skinny Pants In Black £48
3) UNIF Hellraiser (Black Silver)
4) Giorgio Armani Lip Maestro 401 £25 link
5) Cambridge Satchel Bag (Cobalt) link

1772193687131006250613

2 thoughts on “How I’d Style: Bright Knits

Leave a Reply

