Mannequin Nails On Basil Street

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

Mannequin nails are not perhaps the first thing one thinks of when the time comes to do your nails and make them look presentable. In fact, I often steered well away from them for the exact reason that I didn’t want my nails to resemble that of a mannequin’s. My “nail polish philosophy” used to be, if it wasn’t bright or vivid, what’s the point? Though, it hasn’t changed much, I can now appreciate nude nails, for the fact is, it is probably the easiest way to make you look polished, and given it’s a nude, you don’t have to worry about it clashing with whatever you are wearing (although, to be honest, clashes are not something I can be bothered to avoid!). This is where ‘Basil Street’ by Nails Inc. comes into play. It is basically a skin colour, although if you are like me and are impatient when it comes to painting nails so to correct all the mistakes you’ve made you just keep painting over and over until it’s somewhat less clear, then the colour builds to a lighter version of Barry M’s nail paint in ‘Mushroom’. I’ve used this a few times, and the formulation isn’t particularly my favourite; you need either a perfect first coat, or 2 to avoid streakiness. It also doesn’t dry as quickly as I would like. Without a top coat, I’d say it lasts on my nails about 4 days before the chipping gets a bit ridiculous. With a top coat, I’d say 5-6, which isn’t too bad. I bought this colour on the beautybay sale a while ago for £8, which is your standard high st./ drugstore price anyway. Full price, I’m not blown away. Despite that, other colours by Nails Inc. have a much better consistency, so I guess it depends on how lucky you are! Overall, I’d give this a 6/10. If you’re going for a nude, mannequin type nail, I’d recommend it. But for the full price, there are other similar colours on the high street for a lot less (let the hunt begin!)

Are you a fan of the ‘mannequin’ nail look?

1772193687131006250613

2 thoughts on “Mannequin Nails On Basil Street

  1. I like the colour on your nails but know what you meant about the consistency and finish. I have The Thames, whic is a soft grey but always end up steering clear of it as it’s really hard to get an even finish x

    • I know! It’s such a shame! The colours are amazing and hard to find high st dupes, but the consistency is just not great for the price x

Leave a Reply

