How I’d Style: Pencil Skirts

Screen Shot 2013-01-21 at 19.20.23

I love pencil skirts. Ultra feminine, without being overly girly, the pencil skirt is not only flattering but I think it’s a wardrobe staple. So, here are some ways I would style one of the next season’s biggest trends. Enjoy!

Look 1: Sexy 90’s

For this look, I thought I’d go with a 90’s vibe after seeing this pretty awesome snake skin effect pencil skirt from ASOS. Not something I would usually go for, but I think if styled with basics, it can look great. Since, the pencil skirt is high waisted, I thought this crop top from Topshop would be the perfect accompaniment, and the high neck line keeps it classy. To break up the black a bit, I thought the matching taupe heels and clutch keeps things interesting without going overboard. Makeup wise, a black smokey eye and nude lips. I choose the Korres Lip Butter in Guava because you really can’t go wrong with it, so no worrying about lipstick smudging on a night-out!

Links:
1) Topshop Open Neck Crop Top £8
2) ASOS Premium Leather Skirt in Snake Effect £90
3) Cole Haan Crosby Clutch – Suede Envelope
4) Zara TRF Low Cut Court Shoe £16.99 (SALE)
5) Korres Guava Lip Butter 6g £6

Look 2: Bright and Cool

Screen Shot 2013-01-21 at 19.38.30

This is my favourite of the two. This time the pencil skirt is black leather, so it adds a edge to an otherwise colourful look. Again, since the skirt is high waisted, the bright lemon knit is cropped, so not to drown out the skirt. For contrast, I thought the turquoise pointed pumps would bring out the yellow of the jumper more, adding to the brightness of the look. I love the fact that they are pointed, I prefer such shoes over platforms (even though platforms are more comfortable to walk in), these look more chic and expensive. To match the shoes, I found this amazing leather and faux pony turquoise clutch from ASOS, I like the texture it adds and its pretty cool, if you ask me! Since, this is quite a loud outfit, I choose the korres lip balm again because it’s easy to throw on and doesn’t clash with anything.

Links:
1) Topshop Knitted Textured Crop Jumper (Lemon) £30
2) ASOS Pencil Skirt in Leather £90
3) ASOS Leather And Faux Pony Zip Top Clutch Bag £30
4) Vince Camuto ‘Harty’ Pump £65.18
5) Korres Guava Lip Butter 6g £6

1772193687131006250613

Leave a Reply

