February Favourites!

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

So this month has definitely been a hectic one – hence the lack of posts. But a few firm favourites, as well as a couple of new additions, has seen me through quite well.

Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy

This is summer in a bottle for me. Fruity, exotic, sweet … it reminds me of scorching hot sun, sand between the toes, Pina Coladas, fruity cocktails. The open notes are wild berries and mandarin, with the heart notes encompassing honeysuckle, gardenia, jasmine (I’m a big fan of jasmine!). The base notes come through strongly, which are amber, caramel, vanilla, sandalwood and pralines. I think this has to be my favourite perfume of all time (with Marc Jacobs a close second). Given that this bottle is on its last few drops, I sense a repurchase coming its way soon.

L’Oreal Studio Matt & Messy Shine-Free Salt Spray

For those days where my hair seems limp and boring, a few squirts of this tends to liven things up a bit. I think this would be more effective on short to mid-length hair, but even on my rapunzel style locks, it holds quite well, giving it that slight oomph. I suppose it could be a good substitute for the Bumble & Bumble Surf Spray since this is a fraction of the price, retailing at around Β£3 in boots.

L’Oreal Extraordinary Oil

I recently did a blog post on this, and it’s still a firm favourite. My hair, particularly, is still in good condition despite the fact that I’ve ombred it a while ago and it’s been a year since I last got it cut. My ends don’t feel dry or brittle since I’ve incorporated this into my haircare routine (score!)

Soap & Glory Hand Food

A bit of a random favourite, I’m not much of a hand cream type of person, but since purchasing this along with the hand maid gel (which I’ve lost!) my hands are in a better condition. I tend to use this before I go to bed.

Dr. Jart + Waterfuse BB

This has been my base of choice this last month. It’s lightweight, blends into the skin beautifully (no streaks) and it has SPF 25! Hassle free, I apply this using my hands. I love it so much that I haven’t been reaching for my other base of choice, and in fact in comparison, I find this BB cream has a better texture and sits better on the skin. Only problem is, is that it retails for Β£18 – not exactly purse friendly.

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

Urban Decay Naked Palette

I’ve been using this everyday for my brows and if I’m bothered, to line the top of my eyelashes with Crave. For my brows I’ve been predominantly using Faint, but you have to be careful to apply it sparingly (learnt the hard way). So, I started using Naked 2 instead. To apply it I’ve been using the eco tools eyeliner brush, quite the handy brush, and affordable. Although, on days that I couldn’t be bothered with playing around with brushes et al, I’ve been using the trusty old Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Dark brown.

Natural Collection Lash Definition Mascara (Black)

This little discovery has been a miracle worker for my bank balance. It not only separates eyelashes, it doesn’t clump, and it gives volume! And only for Β£1.99!! It also doesn’t dry out quickly, so I pretty much cannot fault it!

L’Oreal False Lash Flutter Mascara

Nonetheless, despite how much I like the natural collection mascara, experimenting is just part of beauty blogging ;). I bought this on a whim, and after seeing the brush I thought it would be a gimmick and wouldn’t work. Well, I was wrong. It certainly delivers on fluttery eyelashes, giving both length and volume. A full review on this mascara will be coming soon.

Chanel Coco Rouge Shine (No. 52 Fetiche)

My go-to-lipstick. It’s basically, my lips but better. Initially when I purchased this, I wasn’t blown away, and given the price tag, that’s not a good thing! But, the more I incorporated this into my daily makeup routine, the more I understood the hype around it. Sure, longevity isn’t one of its strongest points, but it provides a subtle wash of plumy pink, a hint of shine, it’s moisturising and doesn’t stick to dry patches. Win-win. Definitely my favourite lipstick at the moment.

Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm

Lastly, but not least, is the nuxe reve de miel lip balm. Despite the hefty price tag (Β£9), not only does this smell so good (citrus, honey, dark chocolate?). It’s the only thing can prevents my lips from chapping and drying out. The only problem is that glass jar makes it impractical to carry around, and I’ve heard that the stick version isn’t as good. Other than that, give this a go if you’re on the hunt for a lip balm does actually does what it says on the tin (or glass jar in this case!)

1772193687131006250613

Leave a Reply

