March Favourites!

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

A bit late on the monthly favourites front (been swamped with essays and what not!)…but I thought I’d get it out there anyway as I made quite few amazing discoveries in the past month!

La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo:

Where has this been all my life?! Again, yet another massively hyped product in the beauty blogosphere, but with good reason! Although, this was quite hard to get my hands on (sold out everywhere – which I took as a good sign), I finally ordered it online, and I’m not disappointed. Its promise to reduce imperfections and the size of pores has been, for the most, granted. Though on the pricier side of things (Β£14), and given you get a mere 40ml, this isn’t going to last you long, but I already know I’m going to repurchase this when it runs out.

La Roche Posay Effaclar A.I:

I purchased this also when I made my online order for the effaclar duo, and to my surprise it has quickly become a firm favourite. The reason why I was surprised is that unlike other spot treatments, this one doesn’t burn like a … am I the only one who thinks, if it burns my skin it must mean it works? Well, I’ve had a change of heart. This, unlike the Origins Spot Treatment, doesn’t burn my skin nor does it dry out the surrounding areas given that its a cream formulation instead of gel. And its cheaper than the origins spot treatment (Β£9) and in my opinion, more effective too. Bonus!

Ren Clay Cleanser:

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

Having finished the soap & glory knock-off hot cloth cleanser (post here), I decided it was time to spice things up a bit. I’ve heard a lot of great things about the entire Ren skincare range, so I was excited to try the range specially targeted at blemish prone skin. Although, my initial impression was that this wasn’t anything special, and the formulation was weird – it doesn’t foam up, you’re essentially rubbing clay all over your face – this has worked wonders on my skin. My skin doesn’t feel dried out like other cleansers aimed at blemish prone skin usually leaves it; it felt like it was cleaning deep into my pores, my skin is now a lot less oily…I don’t think I have one bad thing to say about this product. Again, slightly on the pricier side of things, at Β£18, but its free from all the nasties (sulphates etc), and you get a ton of product (150ml). I also purchased this online (because I’m lazy) and received 2 samples. So far I’ve tried to infamous glycolactic face mask, but since the sample was a mere 5ml, it’s not like I can give a full review…but I’m tempted to purchase the full size…(Watch this space!)

Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette:

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

This has been the only thing I’ve been reaching for to define my brows. I swapped from using Faint to Naked 2, as if you’re heavy handed it may seem you allowed a younger sibling to draw on your brows with a marker…never a good look!

He-Shi Gradual Tan:

Not that I’ve been reaching for this that much, and at the moment I’m pasty as ever (I need summer!), in those odd moments when I felt that I could be bothered to bronze myself up, I’ve been using this. Its easy to use, streak free, and doesn’t smell too strongly of biscuits. And its only Β£11 (last time I checked) from feelunique.com – not bad!

Natural Collection Lash Definition Mascara:

Still a firm favourite. Let’s move on…

Clarins Instant Light Perfector (apricot shimmer):

I’m not a big fan of lipglosses. They stick to your hair, are messy…just a nuisance really, and you have to reapply a thousand times a day…then I discovered these. And everything changed. And the reason why things changed is that this is not a lipgloss in the traditional sense. Its not at all sticky; rather its a gel like formula lip balm with ultra glossy finish. And the smell…oh my. Let’s just say, the smell makes reapplying this all the worthwhile.

NYX Blusher (Taupe)

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

Not an easy brand to find to say the least. I purchased this online from here. I think it is also sold at superdrug (well, at least according to the website). I initially thought that this wouldn’t show up on my skin, as its not as pigmented as I thought it would be (maybe its just this colour? or me?). But, I’ve found that this works really well as a subtle contour if I want my makeup to be laid-back but still put together. It’s a sort of purplely-brown, which doesn’t sound the most flattering, but it works and was cheap, so I’m not complaining. It reminds me of the Chanel blush in notorious, which I think was limited edition. Not sure if its an exact dupe, but if you missed your chance on that, this could be a great alternative/dupe. The quality of the product is quite good, so I might be making a cheeky purchase soon…we’ll see!

What were your monthly favourites?

1772193687131006250613

Leave a Reply

