Bronzer 101 – part one

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

Since summer is finally upon us – although you probably wouldn’t be able to tell that given the dark grey sky outside – I thought it was high time to dedicate a post to ‘Bronzing’. Perhaps, the easiest way (cheapest, and safest way) of attaining that sun kissed mediterranean look with minimal hassle. I don’t know about you, but I’m a bit of a bronzer addict. I just get swept into the whole marketing and advertising lie that buying this or that bronzer will make me look like a Victoria Secret model … I wish! Anyway, that aside, I’d like to share some of my favourite bronzing products and tips I’ve picked up on the way .. mainly from watching countless of beauty videos on youtube!

1. Bourjois Delice de Poudre

The most obvious choice here, but with good reason! This stuff is reasonably priced, smells great, and is not orangey in anyway whatsoever. It is also hard to overdo. Not to mention it lasts literally forever. I’ve had mine for a few years now, and apart from a significant dent, it doesn’t look to be anywhere near to hitting pan. It imparts a lovely warm glow to the face, and will probably work great on even the palest of skin tones. There is a slight shimmer running through it, but it’s definitely not glittery. The only downside to this bronzer – and it’s not even a big one at that – it that the packaging is sort of crappy and prone to grubbiness. If you can overlook that minor fault, definitely a good one to purchase if you’re on a budget – and even if you’re not!

2. Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Powder

Although, not marketed as a bronzer, I’m a sucker for all things Chanel, and given that the packaging is just amazing, I caved. Since, I’m not a powder gal per se, I went for no.40 so I could use this as a subtle bronzer. This is completely matte (well, it is meant to be a powder!) and blends beautifully into the skin. I find with this, less is more as it can look a tad bit orange if you overdo it. You could probably also dust this all over the face with a large fluffy brush if you want to fake a slight sun kissed glow – just remember to take it down the neck and over the ears if your hair is up. Overall, it adds a nice bronzed effect, but I find it needs a bit more buffing than the Bourjois bronzer. But like the Bourjois bronzer, it also smells good!

3. St. Tropez instant tan face and body lotion

I received this in the Selfridges Summer Beauty box and it’s a product that is completely new to me. I personally prefer a gradual tan, simply because I cannot be bothered to go through the “work” of fake tanning my arms and legs only to have it wash off when I’m in the shower. HOWEVER, having used this once or twice, I must say that it is actually quite a lovely product.

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

4. Benefit Hoola Bronzer

This is perhaps my most used bronzer – though its hard to tell given that the Bourjois one seems to bottomless – since it’s the only one I’ve ever hit pan on! This is again another matte number, and I think that is the case only because I have quite an oily skin type and so I tend to avoid anything that is shimmery in fear of looking like an oil slick! Anyway, this leaves a very believable bronzed glow to the skin despite the fact its matte. I find that this is best applied with a fluffy brush, anything too dense and you’ll have an orange line on your face – not a good look! Though not orangey, it could probably look quite “muddy” on paler skin tones, so I’d suggest to swatch this at your local boots counter or whatever. Other that, I find that this also doubles as a good contour colour – don’t you just love it when pricier products are so versatile? I tend to sweep this from my cheekbones up to the temples in a sort of ‘C’ motion. I also take this down the jawline and the bridge of the nose.

5. Clarins Instant Smooth Self-Tanning

I probably don’t use this often enough. This is basically the bronzing version of Clarins instant smooth primer. It has a weird mousse/ gel like hybrid texture that is unlike any primer I’ve ever used before. It also has your traditional biscuit like smell to, although it’s not very unpleasant unlike some. I tend to use this when I want to achieve an all over sun kissed glow, and again a little goes a long way. If I can’t be bothered with bronzer or I want my face to match the rest of my body after fake tanning, I opt for this. I also use this as my primer of choice if I’m going for a night out and I want a healthy bronzed look that will also double to keep my makeup in place. This retails for around Β£15, and as far as primers goes, I think that’s a reasonable price. Although, I think my favourite my primer at the moment must be the Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer in Light (review coming soon!).

Since this has turned out to be quite a long post – just credit to how much of a bronzer addict I actually am! – I’ve decided to turn this into a two part series. So, stay tuned for the next part of this post very soon!

1772193687131006250613

2 thoughts on “Bronzer 101 – part one

  1. This was so helpful, I’m actually looking for a good bronzer for summer… I’ll definitely check these ones out! x

Leave a Reply

