Bronzer 101 – part two

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

This is part two of the ‘Bronzer 101’ series!
6. Palmers cocoa natural bronze gradual tan

Another new edition to the bronzer pack, but a favourite nonetheless. I raved about this in my April/May favourites. It’s literally foolproof, leaving a nice subtle golden bronzed glow after using it. But, I’d advise treating this like any another fake tanning product and wash your hands thoroughly after use and make sure you rub it well, otherwise you will be left with streak marks! But, since the product is has quite a watery consistency, it absorbs instantly and it smells really, really good! I’ve pretty much have been using it religiously since I purchased it simply because of its scent! And its around £5 – bargain!

7. He-Shi Gradual Tanner

This perhaps the only ‘real’ fake tanner that I own. It actually doesn’t have the notorious ‘biscuit’ smell; but as fake tanners go, this is still more on the gradual moisturiser type of product rather than a dark tinted lotion like Xen Tan or St. Tropez. For optimum results, exfoliate your body first. I’m currently using the Soap and Glory Pulp Friction body scrub – which smells amazing! I’d still advise applying this with a fake tanning mitt anyway, otherwise you’ll be left with slightly orangey hands for a day or two – personal experience, trust me! Other than the smell, this builds up a deeper colour than that palmers cocoa natural bronze gradual tanner and a lot more quickly too. Again, I find this to be quite foolproof, and after 3 consecutive nights, it looks like I’ve been sitting a lot in the sun. Slightly more on the pricier side than the palmers cocoa natural bronze gradual tan (what a mouthful!), it is more reasonably priced than Xen Tan and St. Tropez, hitting the £12 mark. I purchased this from the feelunique website.

Photo by Wiktoria

Photo by Wiktoria

8. Maybelline Colour Tattoo – On and On Bronze

Though this is not a bronzer per se, it still leaves a bronzed effect and is a nice way to tie up your ‘Bronzed Mediterranean Goddess’ look. I like to apply this with my fingers – because I’m too lazy to use a brush, but this also allows you to sheer out the colour for a subtle bronzed look. I think this looks really pretty on its own, with a bit of mascara. You can also build up the intensity by layering it up or adding a bronze eyeshadow over the top. MUA has a nice one (number 11 – I think?) and for £1 you can’t go wrong with it. Recently I’ve been using the bronze-y eyeshadow from the Nars, ‘and God created woman’ palette, which I think you can still get on the Space NK website even though it was limited edition (review coming soon).

9. Bobbi Brown – Bronze Shimmer Brick

I probably use this product the least often, simply because of my aforementioned fear of all things shimmery on anywhere but the eyes. Despite that, I find gives a really beautiful ‘Victoria Secret’ glow – IF used with a light hand. This is probably another example of where less is definitely more. I like to use this on the tops of my cheekbones or layered over the Benefit Hoola Bronzer, to achieve a nice bronzed glow – I apologize for the amount of times I’ve used that cliche in this post! haha! Again, on the pricier side of things, but like Hoola, this is also a versatile product as each stripe of bronzed goodness can double up as an eyeshadow! This would also look lovely layered on top of the maybelline colour tattoo in on and on bronze, although any similar cream shadow would do. If you have your legs out, I’d also suggest a light dusting of this on your legs after fake tanning to tie the whole thing together.

And that is it! Hope this was of some help!

What are your favourite bronzing products?

1772193687131006250613

Leave a Reply

