Summer Blushes!

summer blushes

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve never been much of a blush type of gal. I rather have a bit of bronzer dusted on my cheeks for a healthy summer glow, than look as if I’ve been for a run. But recently, I’ve been getting more and more in wearing blushes, so I’d thought it would be high time I shared some of my favourites with you.

1. MAC ‘Ripe for Love’ (£19)

This is the newest addition to my blush collection, and the only one that is limited edition – hence I thought I’d get it out of the way now, although you probably can still find this at MAC counters if you don’t mind going for a bit of a search. Described on the MAC website as a ‘midtone peach’, it is exactly what it says on the tin, your standard peach blush, with a slight pink tinge and shot with golden shimmer.  It is a satin finish. This was my first MAC blush, and so far I’m quite impressed by the texture and colour pay-off. Smooth and easily blendable, this blush can be worn subtly or built up to an intense colour. I like to wear this without any bronzer during the day for a light peachy glow.

2. Benefit ‘Hervana’ (£23.50)

This is the most expensive of the bunch, and again my first Benefit Blush. Having heard so much hype about it, I caved (like with most hyped up beauty products) and purchased it. Unlike my other blushes that I own this has four complementary colours, ‘lucky shell, divine peach, heavenly rose and berry delight’ and is without doubt the prettiest. It contains a mixture of shimmery and matte shades, leaving a satin texture on the cheeks. You can apply the colour separately, or swirl all the colours together to create a soft, light blue-toned pink on the skin. Again, I like to wear this without bronzer, dusted lightly on the tops of my cheekbones for a soft, understated glow. This is perhaps my favourite blusher out of the bunch. It also comes with a small, angled brush which is actually decent and a mirror – bonus!

3. Sleek ‘Life’s a Peach’ (£4.49)

Don’t let the price tag fool you, despite being the cheapest of the bunch, this Sleek offering has amazing colour pay-off and lasting power. In comparison to the MAC blush, this peach blush is more true to colour, with a more orangey undertone. I find this really hard to wear during the colder months as it can look quite stark against paler skin. However, against a golden tan, this looks amazing and doubles up as a bronzer as it gives a nice healthy glow. For the price, this one is to definitely check out, especially as the colour range is pretty impressive. You can find Sleek products in Superdrug.

summer blushes 1

4. Benefit ‘Posietint’ (£24.50)

This is just a sample size, but having used this a couple of times, it is again another one to check out if you’re in the market for a summer blush. This is simply another blue-toned pink blush, and although perhaps not your standard summertime blush, it delivers a nice, subtle glow (how many more times will I keep saying “glow”….?!), it is the texture that makes it a summer essential. Since it has a watery consistency, this stain will stick around through heat, sweat, a dip in the pool and so on. The only thing is, is that you have to be quick when applying this as you don’t have much time before it sets and you’re left with a pink stain on your face. You can use your fingers to apply this, but I’d imagine using a stippling brush or a duo fiber brush for optimum results.

5. Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush ‘Soft Pink’  (£6.99)

Cream blushers are probably your best bet when it comes to choosing the perfect summer blush, as unlike a powder blush, they have a longer staying power. Not to mention that it will fade more nicely. A powder blush (or any powder product) in the heat will become cakey as you sweat, making it appear patchy on the skin and just unflattering. Again, another sample size, but this is yet another winner. This shade of pink is universally flattering, delivering a slight flush to the cheeks.

6. Stila Colour Convertible Blush ‘Poppy’ (£16)

Undoubtedly, the most shocking colour of the bunch, this deep red is not for the faint hearted. Although terrifying in the pan, this blush can be worn really sheerly for a subtle berry wash of colour on the cheeks. Though this can be applied with fingers, I find that it is best applied with a stippling or duo fiber brush given as it is easier to blend. The most important thing to remember with a colour as bright as this is to blend, blend, blend!! This is yet another cream blusher, which can be worn on both the cheeks and lips. I personally prefer to wear this without bronzer, on the cheeks as it feels too slippery on the lips. If this colour doesn’t float your boat, Stila has a nice variety of colours in this range.

What’s your favourite summer blush?

1772193687131006250613

Leave a Reply

