July Favourites!

july favourites

This past month has been pretty low key, apart from going on a family road trip earlier this month to Austria, I’ve spent most of my time lazying around and reading books and chilling with friends. As a result, my beauty favourites have been quite minimal.

1.ย Neutrogena Visibly Clear 2 in 1 Wash and Mask 150ml

An oldie but definitely a goodie. After what has been almost a year of sticking to higher-end cleansers (namely REN ClearCalm 3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser) and slowly becoming more broke with every re-purchase, I turned this offering from the high street. Though it’s ingredients list doesn’t hold a candle to that of the REN one, it works. It helps to keep my skin clear and since it’s clay based I find that it is a deep clean and keeps my pores looking alright. The only major con of this is that it dries out my skin, which only works against keeping my skin clear, so now I’m on the hunt for a decent moisturiser that’s oil free. For that reason, though I’ve been loving this the past few weeks, I see myself re-purchasing the clay cleanser from REN or maybe something from antipodes…who knows? (or cares….)

2. Painting my nails

Screen Shot 2013-08-08 at 17.40.11

Ok, so this one is sort of a cheat, but this past month I’ve been finding myself reaching for the nail polish more often then not. I am currently sporting this colourful concoction of colours inspired by this post I read on one of my favourite beauty blogs, What I heart Today. I’ve been enjoying painting my nails so much that I even went out and purchased the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Top Coat (review coming soon) just to speed up the whole process. Also, for more NOTD and other random photos, follow me on instagram, my username is: wikivogue.

nars god woman palette

3. NARS and God Created the Woman Palette (Limited Edition)

I’m not much of an eyeshadow type of gal, for many reasons, the main ones being that I am rubbish at applying them and have approximately 2 eyeshadow brushes (not to self, buy more brushes!). However, this month I’ve started playing around more with my makeup on night-outs. This palette is perfect is you love neutrals, smokey browns and bronzes. All the shadows are super pigmented and easy to work with, even for an eyeshadow noob like myself! Though limited edition, you can still get your hands on this from the SpaceNK website (link here). My go to look has been using the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze as a base, sweeping the bronze colour all over the lid, lining the top lashes with the dark matte brown and dusting a tiny bit of the shimmery pink champagne colour in the inner corners to open my eyes. Simples. (A whole post dedicated this baby is on its way!!)

4. Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm

A glorified lip balm? Maybe. Does it work? Without doubt. If you’re prone to chapped lips, you need this. I use this before I go to bed because it’s super nourishing. But since it leaves a matte finish, it’s perfect under lipsticks that need a bit more balminess without making it shiny. Trust me, you need this.

5. Rituals Perfection Volume Mascaraย 

I got this in some magazine last month (either InStyle or Marie Claire, cannot remember for the life of me!) and was initially underwhelmed by it. It just seemed a bit meh, but I choose to take this away with me to Austria as it was a sample size making it perfect for travelling. I don’t know what happened, but I love this stuff! It’s nowhere near as voluminous as the Maybelline Falsies mascara, but I like that, I find the Maybelline mascara to be a bit much for everyday. This delivers a good amount of volume and length, nothing OTT, making it perfect for day-to-day. I’ve also been loving the Benefit they’re Real mascara, but I’ve been reaching for this one more. And it’s slightly cheaper then the Benefit offering.

Extras:

TV Show/s: Top Gear, True Blood, Dexter and BINTM

Films: This is the End, Match Point, Skyfall

Songs: Blurred Lines, Back to Black, anything by Haim or The Black Keys… and Skyfall by Adele ๐Ÿ˜›

Books: Game of Thrones (already reading the second one!)

What have been your monthly favourites?

1772193687131006250613

3 thoughts on “July Favourites!

Leave a Reply

