NOTD: catchup (2)

collage

This past month I’ve been really going to town with painting my nails. After ages of just rocking bare nails, something inside me snapped and it was time to start painting and experimenting again.

1.  Floral Print

Let’s just get it out of the way. I suck at nail art. I can do a decent duck (I swear I will show you all someday), but other than that, if I can blob something into existence as it involves fine lines, it’s just not for me. For this I used Rimmel I Love Lasting Finish Nail Polish in Sunshine (I’ve think this has been discontinued, but any yellow will do) all over the nail. For the actual flowers and stems I used a variety of colours, such as Barry M Nail Paint in Coral, Spring Green and Peach Melba. As well as Model’s Own Fuzzy Peach and OPI Walk the Plank from their Pirates of the Caribbean Collection a while ago. I topped it off with the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri top coat, which I’ve been loving this past few weeks (review coming soon!).

2. Pastels and Neons

If you’re not fussed with nail art, but want to spruce up your nails, try colour blocking. Super easy, no mess, and no rules apply. Use whatever colours you have lying around. You can do alternating colours like I did, or every two, use more than 2 colours, have each finger a different colour… the combinations are endless. For this I used Model’s Own Fuzzy Peach and Pink Bubblegum. Again, I topped it off with the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri top coat. (I also used the Sally Hansen Double Duty Base Coat, which is also really good too, my nails have been feeling particularly strong lately!)

3. Nude

I picked up Essie’s Sugar Daddy earlier in the week, and have been loving this on my nails. Definitely had a bit of the new-nails-syndrome! A beautiful, sheer candy floss colour that just makes your nails look polished and neat. Only thing is, is that it’s super sheer. 1-2 coats will leave you will a nice, healthy pinky glow, but not much colour. In this photo I have around 3-4 coats as I preferred it more opaque. A great colour, but takes a bit of effort to make everything look nice. Also, with 3-4 coats on, it is prone to smudging if you’re impatient. I think in the future I will first put on a layer of white nail polish first, and then just 1-2 coats of this on top, otherwise I’ll be through the bottle in no time!

What have you been sporting on your nails recently?

1772193687131006250613

One thought on “NOTD: catchup (2)

Leave a Reply

