The Edit: Eye Liners

eyeliners edit

I have a sort of love-hate relationship with eyeliners. I used to wear them ALL the time. But since I have oily eyelids, the eyeliner tends to slip and slide, and by the end of the day I look like a panda that’s been on a bender… not a good look. But I persisted nevertheless, found some good ones (and not so good ones) that do stand the test of time, and I thought it would be high time I shared them with you all.

1. Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24hr

The only gel eyeliner out of the bunch, but definitely a good one to try if you too have oily eyelids like me. Given that it’s a gel liner it dries to a matte finish, unlike some liquid liners, and doesn’t budge for most of the day. Though I cannot vouch for the 24hr lasting power, I’d say it lasts around 6 hours on me, which is longer than most. The only reason I perhaps don’t reach for this one all that often is simply due to the fact that I’m crappy at applying gel eyeliner. The brush it came with is alright, but I find it hard to achieve a really fine line. What this means is that I need to get my arse into gear and actually buy some decent brushes!!! All in all, for a gel eyeliner you can buy at Boots for £7.99 it’s a great one to look into.

2. Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Liner 

I think Maybelline (and L’Oreal) perhaps do the best liquid/gel liners on the high street. This is another good offering from Maybelline and perfect for those who want to start wearing liquid liner but don’t know where to start. It’s quite pigmented (not high street ones are), dries quickly (so you don’t have to do the whole keep-eyes-closed-for-what-feels-like-a-millenium-to-avoid-dreaded-above-the-crease-line) and gives a quite a fine line. I’ve had this for a while now and it’s still going strong, hasn’t dried out and doesn’t show any sign that it will in the near future. Plus for £5.99 it’s a bargain. A definite favourite.

3. Eyeko Skinny Mini Liquid Liner (Black) 

This I free in a magazine a month or two ago, and frankly I’m not sure what I think of it. When you swatch it on your hand it’s super pigmented, dries quite quickly, but doesn’t offer as fine a line as does the Maybelline Master Precise. I used this once or twice and found it terribly hard to apply, it kept dragging on my eyelid, creating a mess of things. Both times I immediately took it off after a 10 minute struggle of putting it on. For £10 from Beauty Bay I don’t think I’m quite sold and glad I received it free in a magazine. But since I’ve used it only twice, I will persist and report back if it’s actually crap, or I’m just crap at applying it. Watch this space.

4. YSL The Black Eyeliner

The most expensive of the bunch at £24, but by far my favourite. I was gifted this on my 18th last April, and not only was this such a thoughtful gift, it is still going strong since! This one is the most pigmented of them, a true black and not a dark grey black that the high street options leave. This is also definitely a ‘true’ liquid liner, and what I mean by that is that it doesn’t dry within seconds. Give it 10-15 seconds to dry fully, but it when it does, it doesn’t budge – even on my eyelids. It is truly amazing. I love the applicator too; I personally prefer the traditional liquid eyeliner format as opposed to the pen variations as I find it is easier to hold and gives more precise. The packaging is too, brilliant. Absolute luxe in the gold packaging. I just cannot rave about this enough! Not only is still going strong after a year and a half, with no signs of running out soon (making it worth every penny in my opinion), it lasts well on the eyes, is super black and lovely packaging – what more can a girl want?

Have you tried any of these? What is your favourite gel/liquid liner?

1772193687131006250613

2 thoughts on “The Edit: Eye Liners

  1. Got the eyeko myself in the magazine, have used it three or four times now. Maybe it’s because it was free I’m not sure, but it was really hard to get a lot product out at first. Did you find that happening to you? Anyway It has gotten better but I definitely wouldn’t repurchase. I LOVE the maybelline gel liner though, I use the real techniques eyeliner brushes to apply and they are not too expensive and are great quality you can get them in boots and superdrug or quite cheaply on iherb.com. Some days I just find it easier to use a little angled brush though for gel liner, any one will do and it usually works out great. Love the post by the way.

    • Yeah, I had the same problem too! As I mentioned before, glad it was free, would have been quite annoyed if I actually spent £10 on it. And thanks for the tip, definitely going to check out the real techniques brushes 🙂

Leave a Reply

